Personal · Undergraduate

Appreciation

I sat in the grounds around Norwich Castle on a bench overlooking the city. The sun was shining, the sky clear. All around me, life was moving.

And I felt elated.

It’s rare that we take time to appreciate beauty. It’s rare that we see it in the every day at all. But in that moment, stepping outside of the buzz to just think for a moment, to observe, I realised that we are all lucky. I realised I was lucky.

I am surrounded by those I love and those who love me; I live a society in which I can afford to go to University. Because of that I am constantly surrounded by like-minded people. I belong with them. I am one of them.

I have everything I need, everything I want. But in the rush, like everybody else, I had somehow forgotten to notice.

This was overwhelming.

Naturally, I got out my book and started to read. It consolidated my journey to this point, on this bench overlooking the city. Enid Blyton, Jacqueline Wilson – names which define my childhood, my first reading experiences, kindling. I recall buying young adult fiction, hoping to escape a world in which I felt I did not fit, in which I was not extraordinary or special, a boring world.

Today I do feel extraordinary,

I feel infinite.

It’s funny how the smallest things change your perspective, how they make the biggest impression on who you are and who you hope to become.

beautiful.jpg

Leave a Reply

